### Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, May 19, 2015)

Generated by Sharon Ferris on Tuesday, May 19, 2015

## **Members present**

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Tom Jarboe Commissioner Todd B. Morgan Commissioner John E. O'Connor Dr. Rebecca Bridgett, County Administrator Sharon Ferris, Recorder

### 1. WELCOME

Commissioner President Guy called the meeting to order at 9:05 am in the Chesapeake Building Meeting room, Governmental Center

# **Approval of Minutes**

I move to approve the minutes of May 12, 2015, as presented.

Motion by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, O'Connor

### 2. PROCLAMATIONS

A Proclamation was presented for Small Business Week.

### 3. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

### A. DRAFT AGENDA ITEMS FOR MAY 26 and JUNE 2, 2015

**B. DEPT. OF EMERGENCY SERVICES & TECHNOLOGY** - National Weather Service StormReady Recertification Recognition

**Present:** Bob Kelly, Director

Gerald Gardiner, Emergency Management Manager

Chris Strong, National Weather Service

Mr. Kelly and Mr. Gardiner explained the recertification process. Mr. Strong complimented the County on its Storm Readiness Programs and presented the Commissioners with the National Weather Service StormReady Recertification Certificate.

# C. DEPT. OF EMERGENCY SERVICES & TECHNOLOGY - Agreement to Share Source Code

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the Shared Source Code Agreement between St. Mary' County and Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention (GOCCP).

Motion by Commissioner Tom Jarboe, second by Commissioner John E. O'Connor.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

# **D. DEPARTMENT OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT** - FY 2016 Critical Area Grant Agreement

I move to approve the FY2016 Critical Area Grant Agreement, Project MD1627 from the Maryland Department of Natural Resources on behalf of the Department of Land Use and Growth Management in the amount of \$8,000 for salary reimbursement of county staff who perform review of permits and other tasks related to the County's critical area, and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner John E. O'Connor, second by Commissioner Todd B. Morgan.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Jarboe, Morgan, O'Connor

### 4. PRESENTATIONS

#### A. Annual Historic Preservation Awards

**Present:** Grace Mary Brady, Historic Preservation Planner, Dept. of Land Use and Growth Management

Ms. Brady introduced each award recipient and provided a brief summary of the accomplishments. Recipients received a plaque from Carol Moody, Chair of the Historic Preservation Committee. The Commissioners then presented a proclamation to each award recipient.

### Recipients were:

Sheriff Timothy Cameron, Cindy Allen, Grace Mary Brady, Tyler Mattingly (posthumously), Carol Moody and Linda Reno - Historic Preservation Service Award for their paricipation on a research team that eventually resulted in the book entitled *St. Mary's County Sheriffs*, 375 Years;

Carolyn Laray, Laschelle McKay and Maria Fleming - Historic Preservation Service Award for forming a steering committee to prepare for St. Mary's County's celebration of the 200th Anniversary of the War of 1812;

**Jeanne K. Pirtie -** Historic Preservation Service Award for her local pictorial book entitled *Sotterley's Plantation*;

**Nancy D. Wolfe** - Historic Preservation Service Award for establishment of the Wicomico Valley Foundation of Southern Maryland to preserve more that 1,600 acres of land to be set aside and preserved;

**David G. Brown -** Historic Service Award for his book entitled *George Plater of Sotterly*;

**Edward Lawrence** - Historic Preservation Lifetime Service Award for maintaining the historic structure and fabric of Tutor Hall; and,

**Dr. Timothy B. Riordan** - Historic Preservation Lifetime Achievement Award for providing lectures and demonstrations not only to the Historic St. Mary's City community but throughout the state, and publishing the book entitled *Plundering Times*.

### 5. COMMISSIONER'S TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and items of personal interest.

In response to questions from citizens on the use of the County's transfer stations, Commissioner Jarboe noted that the County does have a "sticker program" in effect and encouraged citizens to obtain their stickers Monday through Friday at their local transfer station.

### 6. ADJOURN

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County meeting closed at 10:12 am.	
Minutes Approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on	
Sharon Ferris, Senior Administrative Coordinator (Recorder)	